~Nick’s t-shirt quilt project begins~

This is going to be a long process I know, but I have more than enough time to do it and so much enthusiasm I can hardly contain myself. Let me begin with a little bit of history that got me to the point that I am today, which is, wanting to make a band quilt for my boyfriend.

This… is Nick! My boyfriend of a year and half and the love of my life. Aside from being a wonderful mathematician, Nick is also an avid ska band fan. What might you ask is ska? Well… ska is a music genre that originated in Jamaica around the 1960’s with jazz, rhythm and blues, and calypso influences. As you can imagine I was shocked to find that this man who had a degree in mathematics and drive to become an actuary also had a hankering for this somewhat outrageous music style. Not only was I shocked and amused by his love for ska music, but I was also amazed at the large amount of band t-shirts he owns. Nick will probably never forgive me for saying so, but Nick does not like to get rid of anything! So, his love for music and his love for his t-shirts got us to the crossroads that we find ourselves today. One in which we must ask ourselves what do we do with all of these shirts!!!

Well, as a self-taught quilter and craft lover, I figured what better than a band t-shirt quilt. This idea is good for both of us. Nick will be able to keep his shirt collection and I get another drawer in the dresser for all of my clothes! Score… Now, please do not think that I forced Nick to agree to this plan. He agrees that holding on to all of these old, tattered, and stained t-shirts is a little “call the Hoarders show on TLC” worthy and is more than ok with my plans for the fabric.

Today is not the first day that I began working on the quilt. Oh, no, no, no… I began several weeks ago by gathering the shirts that I wanted to use and cutting them into large squares. I must admit that this did give me moments of sheer panic. What if I cut them wrong? What if I ruined the shirts that were signed by the bands? And so on and so forth. But, trying to be as fearless as possible I overcame my worry and was able to cut all of the shirts I wanted to use for the project.

For those of you who are interested in making a t-shirt quilt my best advice is measure!  But, do not measure once, twice, but at least three times to be sure that you are cutting the material appropriately. Now I am breathing a sigh of relief because I did this! I measured three times just to be sure I was not ruining some of my love’s most prized possessions. Honestly, other than cutting the shirts into large squares writing about it in this blog is probably the most I have gotten accomplished. But, that is ok! I am ok with that. Next on my t-shirt quilt agenda is to put permanent fusible stabilizer on the back of each t-shirt square.

This Fuse’n Stitch permanent stabilizer is what I have chosen to work with on this project. This is the first time I have ever used anything like this and again my anxiety returns. Which is why I am not actually ironing it on to the back of the shirts at this time! I am only writing about doing it. This is my attempt at gaining a “kick butt” attitude about this next step in the quilt making process. Not all quilts require this type of stabilizer! Only ones that use t-shirt material that is flimsy. Go me for picking material that isn’t easy to work with. Sigh…

For this quilt I cut 20 of Nick’s band t-shirts and must iron this permanent stabilizer to the back of all 20 of them! This… is going to take some time. Therefore, I am going to end this blog post by saying that I have my work cut out for me! Do not feel sorry for me though. I enjoy a challenge and look forward to the end result of this process. Keep your eyes open for another posting by me on my blog, with the full step-by-step directions on how to make a quilt like this if you are interested! I will also keep you up to date on my progress.

1 Comment

Filed under Craft projects

One response to “~Nick’s t-shirt quilt project begins~

  1. Linda

    Keep us posted on your progress!!

Leave a Reply

