“Strange Terrain”

I realize that most, if not all of my posts have started with a tribute, but I just can’t help it! There are so many people in my life who have inspired me in some way and if I can thank them in no other way, I can thank them through my blog. With that being said, my next tribute begins with thanks going out to my best friend. Without her I would have never found this wonderful band that sparks in me a fire, that while I am listening to or thinking about them, makes the entire world seem to spin perfectly on its axis. So, here is to you Jenny! Thank you, thank you, thank you…

This, my dear readers, is Jenny. Who knew that when I moved to Lafayette in 2009 to finish school I would meet this wonderful, smart, interesting, and mature woman. From the moment we started spending time together I heard about this band that she absolutely adored. I guess over the years I had heard so many of my friends gush over cute guitarists and “marriage worthy” lead singers, that this band held no more importance than “just another band”. Boy was I wrong.

Around the time of  Jenny’s birthday we found that Circa Survive was going to play a show at The House of Blues in New Orleans. Well, as the friend that I am, no matter my care for the band or the show, I felt it only necessary to buy tickets for us both as a birthday gift to my dear friend. I enjoyed nothing more than seeing her face light up when I told her my plan to take her to the show as her b-day gift. I am sure Jenny would have found a way to go had I not offered, but I thoroughly enjoy giving when I am able. So, seeing as how this is my best friend, I wanted to do for her something BIG!

When we arrived in New Orleans and stepped into the line to enter The House of Blues, we noticed a very large tour bus parked on the curb. Low and behold it was Circa’s bus!! Screech…. And, there was Anthony Green, the lead singer, waving from his bus and obviously just as excited to see us as we were to see him. Eventually he and his band made their way off of the bus and I truly believe that Jenny believed she would cease to exist if she did not get the chance to breathe the same air as Anthony!

Once in his presence we took a few pictures, discussed his new-born son, and told him this was my “first concert”. Now, this was not really my first concert, but it was my first REAL concert. I had no idea what Jenny had been talking about when she said this band would change my life. She was right!! Psshhh… and I was a sceptic. In The House of Blues, cramped, along with the other hundreds of people who also love this band, I had an experience that I can only explain by saying that it took my breath away! There were lights, and confetti, and Anthony, singing what felt like a concert planned only for me! At that moment no one else mattered or existed. Just the music and me!

Will I tell anyone and everyone about Circa Survive the way Jenny tells any and everyone about them? Absolutely! Could I listen to them every minute of every day? Absolutely! Will I always think of them as my favorite band? Yes, and I want to share with you a song that means a lot to me and is helping me cope with my journey of self discovery. I was unable to upload the music track for you, but I was able to get the lyrics. This is the first song on Circa Survive’s brand new album: Blue Sky Noise

I hope you enjoy and can appreciate it the way I do. Everyone interprets music in their own way, but to me this song represents our inability to know or see the future. So, by being “new to the neighborhood” you have to find your way sometimes, even without signs, in this maze of a life where only light can get through.

 

“Strange Terrain”

We read the signs completely backwards
no one could see if we ended up
where we needed to be
to find out how it all works with
so many partners
and nobody wants, nobody wants to sit
behind the wheel, behind the wheel

Who’s the one pounding the gears
avoiding the crowds
keeping their ear to the ground?
Oh I’ve made a mistake
I never learned how to get back to the place, ohhh

Where have all the signs gone?
I don’t know where I am without them
in our lives

We made designs completely backwards
and nobody knows if we’re even close
to where we need to go
to find out how it all works with
so many artists and nobody
wants to sit behind the wheel, behind the wheel
(Get your own map)

Who’s the one pounding the gears
avoiding the crowds, keeping their ear to the ground?
Oh I’ve made a mistake
I never learned how to get back to the place
where all our confidence kept us behind a shield
Only light could get through
where all our confidence kept us behind a shield
Only light could get through

Where have all the signs gone?
I don’t know where I am without them
in our lives

1 Comment

Filed under Music

One response to ““Strange Terrain”

  1. Jenny

    I still describe this as the best day of my entire life. Being 21 years old and having loved, lost, moved, and pushed through some pretty ridiculous situations, I think that “The best day of my life” is a pretty notable title for that day. I love you, Lindz, you are my best friend. No matter how many hours it takes for me to get where you are, we are always together.

Leave a Reply

